Indian regional polls 2016: AIADMK retains Madras Fort

Indian regional polls 2016: AIADMK retains Madras Fort

Leftists return in Kerala, Congress-DMK alliance in Puducherry, BJP in Assam, Mamata Banerjee’s TMC thrash Congress-CPM in Bengal!
-Dr. Abdul Ruff

And the long wait for poll outcomes in 5 Indian states is finally over! Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Pondicherry and West Bengal went to poll to elect new assemblies and Counting for all seats in the five states have been taken up this morning and results are pouring in.
The first reports poll outcomes and trends indicate that the Indian voters are now more matured than ever before.
Counting of votes in the high-stakes assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry is underway and the results are almost clear. In West Bengal and Tamil Nadu, where the incumbent Trinamool Congress and AIADMK respectively are surging ahead in initial rounds of counting, the vote share seems to be tilting heavily in their favour.
In Assam, the BJP appears to have stormed Assam unseating Congress which also looks like losing Kerala. Assam is on the road to making history with BJP set to get its first government in the North East by dislodging Congress which has been in power for three consecutive terms.
In Kerala, the Left Front was well on the road to dislodge Congress from power keeping up the tradition of voting out the incumbent government. Also, BJP has opened an account for the first time in its political history in Kerala as its candidate and former central railway minister Rajagopal defeated the sitting CMP MLA in Nemom constituency in the capital.
In the Union Territory of Puducherry, Congress-DMK alliance was ahead in the 30-member assembly closely followed by AINRC headed by Chief Minister and former Congressman N Rangaswamy.
According to various exit polls, Assam, Tamil Nadu and Kerala appeared to have voted for change giving BJP its first government in the northeastern state dislodging Congress which also lost Kerala. DMK, tipped by NDTV to regain power trouncing AIADMK in Tamil Nadu, is the main opposition now.
Only West Bengal has re-elected Trinamool Congress led by CM Mamata Banerjee in a big way. The Congress could take solace from its projected victory in the tiny Union Territory of Puducherry where it is likely to get power in alliance with the DMK.
CPI (M) veteran V S Achuthanandan has won from Malampuzha constituency by a margin of 23,142 votes, defeating C Krishna Kumar of BJP. As it has become clear that her party will retain power, Jayalalithaa has thanked the voters: “I convey my heartiest thanks to voters who have reaffirmed their faith on me and given me another chance. False campaigning by DMK has been defeated. People of Tamil Nadu have rejected family politics carried out by our opponents”.
DMK chief M Karunanidhi is leading by 29,372 votes over AIADMK’s A N R Paneerselvam in Tiruvarur constituency. Puducherry: Chief Minister and AINRC founder N Rangasamy wins Indira Nagar Assembly constituency. Rangasamy defeats V Aroumougam A K D of Congress by 3,404 votes.

In Kerala the defeat of corruption and scams ridden Congress led UDF was rather expected but now there is a strong feeling among Congress men that had Oommen Chandy quit CM post and let state Congress chief Sudheeran or Ramesh Chennithala, perhaps UDF would have come back. The Muslim League has made enough success in Muslim dominated districts but cannot be in the new government.
Post pol predictions said Tamil Nadu may have a hung assembly. But there is sigh of relief that Tamil Nadu has got a government with majority.
It argued that there would be change in the attitude and performance of the ruling AIADMK governance and the party faced a serious threat from its arch rival DMK which has got about 100 seats in the assembly t o apply a pressure on the government constantly. Jaya will end liquor culture in a phased manner.
In Kerala outcomes reveal a strong anti-incumbency wave against the ruling Congress led UDF and people voted to oust the corrupt Congress party led government and this explains how BJP also could open an account in the state.
In West Bengal the victory of incumbent TMC led by Mamata Banerjee is indeed historic as it defeated the formidable alliance of Congress-Communists- both have got disillusioned now.
In Tamil Nadu the ruling AIADMK could win the poll almost all alone and defeated DMK-Congress led airbus alliance. While PMK has got a MLA in the new assembly the PWA, which has given a lot of hopes of the youth, has failed to make it to the assembly. The issue would be debated in public.
Interestingly, the Hindutva BJP has suffered a complete rout in the assembly poll for the first time in years, though it could send an MLA to Kerala assembly and hopes to replace Congress party there in course as per its ideology to make a India free of and without Congress.

Interestingly, Congress promoted the BJP and used it to target and control Muslims in India but now BJP wants to finish off the Congress party and consume its vote banks.
The TN elections witnessed a multi-cornered fight with the AIADMK, DMK, BJP, PMK and the PWF as the major parties. But it is AIADMK chief and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa who has emerged triumphant and swept the polls. Jayalalithaa has made history as she is the second chief minister after MGR to be elected for a second consecutive term.
There could be reasons why she was elected back to power by the people of Tamil Nadu. We will discuss this in another article.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s